A Letter from Jenna

Dear Boston,
I grew up in central MA in a town called Fitchburg.. “the burg.” Some of you know of it from going to parties/concerts as kids or where you went to school at Fitchburg State College. I am even friends with some of you.. I won’t name names.. that have broken into one of my family’s properties when they were in college. And also share studio space now with some of you that had mutual friends growing up, but our lives never crossed.. and those I went to school with. Oh dear boston.. we have so many ties that I thought I wanted to run away from. I never thought I would ever live anywhere else but NYC, where my job of fashion lives. But when I started to explore Boston as an adult I immediately noticed a difference in people.

Right away, I met people that I instantly connected with.. people whom shared similar upbringings that I felt like I’ve known forever and some who were walking down the same road as myself. Is it because we’re “New England” kids at heart? We grew up amusing ourselves the same ways.. renting beach cottages by the ocean in Maine for the summer, boogie boarding, BBQ-ing, biking, sailing, hiking, trying to spook your little sister at night by telling ghost stories and shouting REDRUM.. or heading to the White Mountains in the winter to go skiing and tubing, fighting over who gets to sleep on the top bunk bed, passing “dutch-ovens,” visiting Story Land..

These are some of my experiences growing up and how I fell back in love with Boston after moving back from NYC because I could relate to everyone there. There’s something so truthful about Boston. My friends here aren’t afraid to be silly, laugh and have fun. Let’s embrace who we are, and not be afraid to let the world know. Don’t try to be someone you aren’t. I’m sorry New York.. but stop pretending you don’t know!!

That being said….

Oh Boston– you are so talented in so many ways. I invite everyone I know and everyone I don’t to show the world how amazing we really are.. as artists, designers, crafters, innovators, thinkers, entrepreneurs, collaborators.. All of you who run to NY to become “cool” New Yorkers lose yourself in the hype. Why don’t we represent a piece of Boston and where we come from rather than trying to be someone else that only appears to be cool? Why don’t we come together and ask ourselves how can we do this together?

I’ve been lucky to be inspired by a group of people who wanted to do just that (especially a person or two that helped convince me and inspire it all. THANK YOU.).. who wanted to come together and work off of each other’s energy and passions for art & design. And many more that have contributed.. and it’s not too late for you to be apart of it.

Fringe Movement. Union Square. Somerville MA.

Grand Opening. FALL 2009. More info TBA.

(sorry to pick on you NY.. ps i love you)

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Events, Fashion, Just Because

Leave a Reply

